Laserfiche WebLink
POLICE COMMISSION <br />(Effective 7-24-19) <br />Purpose: Appoints the Police Chief. Reviews the budget prepared by the Police <br />Chief and may make recommendations to the Mayor and Managing <br />Director. Receives, considers, and investigates charges brought by the <br />public against the conduct of the police department or any of its members <br />and submits a written report to the Police Chief. Advises the Police Chief <br />on police -community relations. <br />Authority: County Charter, Section 7-2.2 and Hawaii Revised Statutes, Section 52. <br />Appointment: Appointed by Mayor and confirmed by Council. Five-year staggered terms. <br />Full Membership: Nine Members. <br />Representation: One member from each council district. <br />Requirements: No more than five may belong officially to same political party. <br />Meetings: Third Friday of each month at 9:00 a.m. alternating between Hilo and Kona. <br />Financial Disclosure: Members must file a Financial Disclosure as required by the Hawaii <br />County Code. <br />Reappointment: No member shall be appointed for a second term for at least two years <br />following the expiration of the term unless the appointment was for two <br />years or less. <br />Qualities: Respected by the community as being community -minded and oriented. <br />Able to focus on the community's needs as a whole without catering to <br />special or self -interests. <br />Current Members: District 1, Vacant, term ends 12/31/23 <br />District 2, Paul Paiva, term ends 12/31/19 <br />District 3, Thomas Brown, term ends 12/31/22 <br />District 4, Wayne De Luz, term ends 12/31/19 <br />District 5, Denby Toci, term ends 12/31/23 <br />District 6, Joan Obra, term ends 12/31/22 <br />District 7, Vacant, term ends 12/31/19 <br />District 8, John Bertsch, term ends 12/31/20 <br />District 9, Vacant, term ends 12/31/21 <br />Contact Person: Josie Pelayo, Secretary. Phone: (808) 932-2950 <br />Note: Information on this sheet is only a summary. For full information, see appropriate sections <br />of the County Charter, County Code, and Hawaii Revised Statutes. <br />